Divorcees may be eligible for the same kind of premium refund as a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife stood a poor driving history and you have continued to cover their old surcharged rates given that they left your household permanently, bring this towards the immediate attention of one’s insurance representative. Visit him with all pertinent and documented information so that your premiums may be reduced immediately while the application additional resources for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for from three to live years, based upon state law and individual company policy. Several transgressions or a mixture of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially increase your rates, but will also force you to stick with the same company, paying its high premiums, in the hope of not receiving canceled and thrown in to the assigned risk pool, where it could be even worse.
For instance, suppose you’re a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket within a winter visit Florida and you then slid on the ice in route home, causing $2,000 injury to your car, which you reported in your insurance company.
For example, if you were separated or divorced a year ago but forgot that you simply were still paying a $600 premium using a two-car family, choosing eligible for an instantaneous rate reduction to $250 (depending on only your automobile) and a premium refund of $560. If you have neglected to inform your insurance company for 2 years, you’d be entitled to a $780 refund, and so on.
If your insurance carrier procrastinates or refuses outright to cover the refund, a state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will help you with a legitimate complaint. As a last resort, you will find the option of utilizing the matter to a small-claims court or your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, that the clean record today keeps our prime rates away, is truer now than ever. Since the creation of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents appear Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even when they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving an organization vehicle at work.